Because I Said So: A Day in the Life Of...
HOME          ABout          Wedding          Contact

Monday, October 19, 2015

A Day in the Life Of...

Days around here look pretty different now that I don't have a job. It's not a terrible different, just different. I love all the free time and the open schedule, but the whole no money part is kind of hard to cope with.

My days go a little something like this:

9:00 AM - Wake Up. Getting to sleep in is one of the best perks (if there are even perks) of being jobless. 

9:00-10:00 AM - Get ready for the day. This includes scrolling through emails--hopeful for job leads, social media, taking a shower, etc.

10:00 AM - 2:00PM (ish)- You can find me at Starbucks applying for jobs, blogging, and applying for more jobs. 
So far, Starbucks is the only place I have found that has free wifi and is somewhere I'd want to spend more than one hour. Give me some headphones, a comfy chair, and I can easily knock out a few job apps. 
**I will say that this 3-4 hours is about all the job searching I can handle in one day--anymore and it seems like my head will explode. After this period of time, don't ask me about jobs, talk about jobs, suggest jobs--quite frankly I'm over it.

2:00PM(ish)-3:00PM - Lunch + Errands. I've recently become obsessed with Pho (spelling?) the Vietnamese soup and re-obsessed with Chik-Fil-A. Somedays, however, I'm smart and eat at home instead of spending money.

3:00PM-5:45PM- I'm back at home and I'll usually catch up on TV shows I missed over the weekend, hang out with the family if they are home, play with the pups, and think about cleaning my room (then promptly decide that later is better).

6:00PM - Workout! This time is interchangeable with 9:00AM--it just depends on what classes I feel like going to and IF I wake up on time.

7:30PM - Depending on what day of the week it is, Josh and I will watch football (M or TH) or just hang out. 

10:00PM - I'm usually in bed or at least watching Netflix. Lately, thanks to allergies, I've been going to bed with a dose of Benadryl.

Oh the glamorous life I lead. What's your typical day like?


  1. Sounds like you're getting a lot done! I remember how stressful it can be searching for jobs, and I can totally understand only being able to do it for so many hours a day. You'll find something soon! My day consists of getting my oldest ready for school, then watching/playing with my twins while trying to get household and blog work done. It's really glamorous over here too ;)

  2. Here too, so glamorous. Wake up between 4am, get myself ready and spend some time waking up. Pack lunches and catch up on email. Get the kids up and start my hour trek to drop them off at school. Get to work around 8:20 and leave around 5:10. Pick the kiddos up and land at home somewhere between 5:45-6:15. Start dinner, homework, showers, and anything else that needs attention. Around 7pm drink some tea and work on the blog while the family enjoys about 10 minutes of family time before I need to get the 5 year old to bed. Then get him settled, enjoy some time with the 10 year old. Get him to bed around 8:30. Finish up the blog and drink more tea. Work on the tea journal and head to bed around 9p-10p. :) What a schedule!

  3. Love this! I have no idea where to even start when it comes to finding jobs.

  4. Usually my days start at 5am, do work-work from 6-10:30, blog stuff from 10:30-noon, take a lunch break, then I meet with clients, finish any projects I'm working on and hopefully my day is finished by 11. When I was unemployed I found Starbucks to be so distracting, so I found myself at my neighborhood bar being amused by people on dates haha

  5. Love getting to know what other people's days are like :) I'm about to be rendered jobless soon so I can definitely relate to the no money part! Right now, I get up at about 6:15, take care of the dogs and get ready. Work is 8:30-5:00 with a pretty good sized lunch break in the middle. Then it's home to let the dogs out, exercise/dog park from 6 - 7, then depending on the day, either TV night at a friend's house, cooking night, or just lazing about. Hope you get a good lead soon!

    Hustle & Whoa

  6. This was my life just a few months ago.
    Hang in there, girl.